Skip to Content
Illinois Board of Higher Education

Officer Infomation & Search

Military Prior Learning Assessment (MPLA) Task Force


Pursuant to PA 99-395, the Illinois Board of Higher Education has been appointed to create a Military Prior Learning Assessment (MPLA) Task Force.

According to 110 ILCS 205/9.34, the purpose of the Task Force is “to study and make recommendations on how to best effectuate the recognition of military learning for academic credit, industry-recognized credentials, and college degrees through the use of the Prior Learning Assessment.”

Meeting Dates
Commission Members

The Commission will be chaired by Dr. Arthur Sutton, deputy director of Diversity and Outreach for the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE), and includes:

  • Senator Pamela J. Althoff, 32nd District
  • Senator Tom Cullerton, 23rd District
  • Representative Linda Chapa LaVia, 83rd District
  • Representative Jeanne M. Ives, 42nd District
  • Mr. Kevin Schott, Office of the Fire Marshall
  • Dr. Walter Pearson, Loyola University, Chicago
  • Mr. Dan Wellman, Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs
  • President Charlotte Warren, Lincoln Land Community College
  • Ms. Amy Sherman, Council for Adult and Experiential Learning
  • Ms. Kim Eck, Illinois Student Assistance Commission
  • Mr. Jess Ray, Illinois State University
  • Dr. Ron Williams, Western Illinois University
  • Mr. Jeff Newell, Illinois Community College Board
  • Ms. Cynthia Rathunde, City Colleges of Chicago
  • Dr. Janet Fontenot, Southwestern Illinois College
  • Dr. Adam Tournier, McKendree University
Related Links and Resources


Copyright 2016