Skip to Content
Illinois Board of Higher Education

Officer Infomation & Search

About IBHE > Board Members

Tom Cross

Tom Cross (Chair)
11 Partridge Square
Oswego, IL 60543
(217) 782-2551
Professional:  Distinguished Fellow, Aurora University
Graduate: Illinois Wesleyan University; Samford University, Cumberland School of Law
Home: Oswego
Chairman - Public Member

John Bambenek John Bambenek
313 N Mattis Ave, Suite 113A
Champaign, IL 61821
(217) 493-0760
Professional: President of Bambenek Consulting, Ltd.
Graduate: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Home: Champaign
Ex Officio Member representing the Chair of the Illinois Community College Board
Jay D. Bergman Jay D. Bergman
108 East Ogden Avenue
Hinsdale, Illinois 60521
(630) 654-2282

Professional: President and CEO, Petco Petroleum Corporation of Hinsdale
Graduate: Illinois State University
Home: Joliet
Public Member
Max Coffey

Max Coffey
739 Glenwood Drive
Charleston, IL 62441
(217) 348-0079

Professional: President & CEO, Kimco USA Inc.
Home: Charleston
Public Member

Sherry Eagle Sherry Eagle
505 North McClurg Court, Unit 2702
Chicago, IL 60611
(630) 399-7243

Professional: Executive Director Institute for Collaboration, Aurora University
Graduate: University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Chicago and Northern Illinois University
Home: Chicago
Representative of Public Universities
Hays Jane
Jane Hays
The Downey Group
505 Devonshire Drive
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 356-7263

Professional: Managing Director for The Downey Group
Graduate: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and University of Illinois College of Law
Home: Champaign
Public Member
Alice Jacobs

Alice Marie Jacobs
P.O. Box 230
Bismarck, IL 61814
(217) 260-8343

Professional: President, Danville Area Community College
Graduate: Michigan State University, Western Michigan University, Louisburg College, North Carolina
Home: Danville
Public Member

Cherilyn Murer
16030 West 143rd Street
Homer Glen, IL 60491
(815) 685-3389

Professional: Past President and CEO, Murer Consultants
Graduate: Lewis University and Northern Illinois University Law School
Home: Homer Glen
Public member

Santos Rivera

Santos Rivera
2020 N. California Avenue
STE 7, #190
Chicago, IL  60647 
(773) 329-0608

Professional: Emeritus Senior Executive, NEIU
Graduate: Aurora College, Northeastern Illinois University, The Union Institute Graduate School
Home: Chicago
Public member

Darlene Ruscitti
Darlene Ruscitti
421 N. County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
(630) 688-0973

Professional: Superintendent of Schools, DuPage Regional Office of Education
Graduate: Northeastern Illinois University and Loyola University
Home: Bloomingdale
Public member

Jack Thomas

Jack Thomas
Western Illinois University
1 University Circle
Macomb, IL 61455
(309) 298-1824

Professional: President, Western Illinois University
Graduate: Alabama A & M University; Virginia State University; Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Home: Macomb
Public Member

Christine M. Wiseman

Christine Wiseman
40 Shadow Creek Circle
Palos Heights, IL 60463
(402) 658-5371

Professional: President Emerita of St. Xavier University
Graduate: Marquette University and Marquette University College of Law
Home: Palos Heights
Representative of Private Universities

Eric Zarnikow

Eric Zarnikow
1755 Lake Cook Road
Deerfield, Illinois 60015
(217) 782-2020

Professional: Executive Director, Illinois Student Assistance Commission
Graduate: Iowa State University; Drake University
Home: Buffalo Grove
Ex Officio Member representing the Chair of the Illinois Students Assistance Commission


Akya Gossitt
6515 S. Yale Ave., Apt. 1c
Chicago, IL 60621
(708) 829-3226

Student at Governors State University
Major: Social Work
Home: Chicago
Non-Traditional Student Board Member


Natalie Pieper
1209 W. Arthur Ave.
Chicago, IL 60626
(402) 326-9800

Student at Loyola University Chicago
Major: Political Science
Home: Chicago
Student Board Member

Copyright 2012